finding a new kayak

Posted: December 8, 2009 by Jeff Fabiszewski in Gear Reviews, Kayaks
Tags: ,

This past weekend I visited Sweetwater Kayaks and played with five kayaks.  I want to thank Russell for letting me play with each boat.  Most retailers are quick to sell products.  And Russell is very accommodating.

I am 175 lb,  5′ 11″ tall, 30″ waist with a 32″ in-seem, my arms are 6′ 1″ long with a size 9.5 shoe.  The day I paddled the wind was gusting between 15 to 20 miles per hour with a slow incoming tide.  I chose to paddle in a triangular route to test these kayaks over a one mile course.  I focused on paddling with out the skeg forward and backward on this triangular course and used bow draws, stern draws, and low braces to test the turning capabilities.  I added no extra gear into the kayaks.  And used a Scottish made 215cm Lendel Paddle with Archipelago blades.

  • Greenlander Pro, NDK
    • fish form, rock solid with no weather cocking, lot of knee room – I would need to add knee and under thy padding, comfortable seat and back strap, little rocker, slow to turn up wind with a low brace, moderate turning up wind with a bow rudder.  With a little edging this is a sea kayak with no weathercocking
  • Anas Acuta, Valley Sea Kayaks
    • Swede form, moderate weather cocking, snug knee room – no extra padding is needed, I would want a different seat, I liked the back strap, rocker, easy to turn up wind with a low brace,
  • Nordkapp LV, Valley Sea Kayaks
    • Swede form, slight weather cocking, moderate knee room – it would need some padding under my thys.  It has a comfortable seat and back strap, rocker, easy to turn up wind with a low brace,
  • Cetus LV, P&H Sea Kayaks
    • Swede form, slippery lots of weather cocking, knee room is perfect like wearing a pair of pants – no additional padding is necessary, comfortable seat and back strap, rocker, easy to turn up wind with a low brace, I had some problems getting the skeg to fully deploy,
  • Scorpio LV, P&H Sea Kayaks
    • Swede form, slippery lots of weather cocking, knee room is perfect like wearing a pair of pants, comfortable seat and back strap, rocker, easy to turn up wind with a low brace,

I have ruled out the Nordkapp LV because of the higher volume deck. The Nordkapp LV deck just looks odd when I sat in its cockpit.  I already own a plastic Chatham 17 by Necky Kayaks; thus, I am ruling out the Scorpio.  Currently I am looking for a little more play in my future kayak.  So the Greenlander Pro is dropping to the number three position.  However, if I was doing a major expedition I would most definitely want the rock solid paddling experience of the Greenlander Pro.  So, that leaves the brand new Cetus LV competing with the tried, true, classic Anas Acuta.

My next demo will be to load the Cetus LV, Anas Acuta, and Greenlander Pro with a weeks worth of gear.  I will be doing this sometime in January.  It will be interesting to see how they handle with gear.  I also plan on putting them through the ringer with Greenland rolls and braces.

Your ideas are always appreciated – Jeff

Update: January 24, 2011 “Test Paddling NDK Greenlander Pro

Comments
  1. Brian H. says:

    Hi Jeff,

    You’ve certainly included more than enough info to help readers make up their mind. I sell kayaks on my blog through Amazon, but none that you mentioned. However, I’d like to ask you if I could include this post on my kayaking section so my readers can be better informed on kayaks, even ones I don’t sell yet.

    I’d definitely include a back link and recommend my visitors come here to get even more info on kayaking.

    I’ve subscribed to the comments so I’ll make sure to catch your reply whenever you have time.

    Happy kayaking,
    Brian H.

  2. Hi Brian, Of course you may include this post on my kayaking selection. I have had the pleasure of paddling a lot of kayaks. What types do you sell?

  3. cheneIrrece says:

    Hello, this is really great post, I will bookmark this! it will help lots of people. Keep posting!

  4. cheptiocort says:

    Great post – Just subscribed to your RSS feed.. Thanks

  5. IrrannyElurdy says:

    Great tip! I will add this site to my bookmarks.

  6. alkardlet says:

    Hello.This post was extremely motivating, particularly since I was browsing for thoughts on this topic last couple of days.

Leave a Reply

